The College of New Jersey Logo

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

Sharon Pfluger ’82 inducted into IWLCA’s inaugural Hall of Fame Class

Sharon Pfluger ’82 was inducted into the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association’s inaugural Hall of Fame class. The class was formally enshrined on Thursday, Nov. 16 at a ceremony during the IWLCA Annual Meetings at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

Pfluger is the winningest women’s lacrosse coach in history, posting a career record of 494-55-1 and a .899 winning percentage as the head coach at TCNJ. She has coached her squads to post-season tournament bids in every season and won 11 NCAA Division III national championships. A 13-time IWLCA Regional Coach of the Year, Pfluger was named the nation’s top coach by her peers in 1987 and 2004. Her players include 81 first-team All-Americans and 18 national position Players of the Year. She is one of just two female coaches featured in the NCAA Hall of Champions’ Legends of the Game display in Indianapolis, Indiana. Pfluger was inducted into the U.S. Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2007.

Pfluger is one of six inductees chosen by the IWLCA’s Hall of Fame committee, chaired by Princeton University head coach Chris Sailer.

“Choosing a group of six honorees from among the many qualified nominees was no easy task,” said Kathy Taylor, IWLCA president and head coach at Le Moyne College. “Collectively, they personify the highest level of achievement in our sport, and have set a standard the rest of us aspire to reach. Their impact on their players, programs, institutions, and the larger lacrosse community cannot be overstated and we are pleased to be able to celebrate their legacy by enshrining them in our Hall of Fame.”

The IWLCA Hall of Fame was established in May 2017 to recognize and honor outstanding career achievements by collegiate women’s lacrosse coaches.

Pfluger, who also coaches TCNJ’s field hockey team, was unable to attend the ceremony. She was busy preparing her team to compete in the NCAA Division III Field Hockey Final Four.

Congratulations, Sharon!