The College of New Jersey Logo

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

Two alums named New Jersey County Teachers of the Year

Robin Meyh and Colleen Grzywacz
Robin Meyh ’94 and Colleen Grzywacz ’05


Last month, the New Jersey Department of Education announced its 2023–2024 County Teachers of the Year with a ceremony on campus in the Education Building. Two of this year’s county winners are alumni of the college:

  • Colleen Grzywacz ’05, vocal music teacher at Hackettstown Middle School in Warren County
  • Robin Meyh ’94, health and physical education teacher (recently retired) at Mendham High School in Morris County

“I applaud the commitment and professionalism of each of the 21 County Teachers of the Year,” said Governor Phil Murphy in a press release announcing the winners. “If you want to know why New Jersey’s public schools are rated as among the best in the nation, look no further than these 21 exemplars of the kind of quality teaching that takes place in every school throughout our state.”

Individual schools nominate exceptional educators for County Teacher of the Year through the Governor’s Educator of the Year Program, which promotes a positive school culture by acknowledging the hard work and dedication of outstanding teachers and educational services professionals.

Next, they’ll find out who will earn the title of Governor’s Educator of the Year, which will be announced later in the fall.

The 2022–2023 New Jersey State Teacher of the Year honor was awarded to Christine Girtain ’94, a science teacher in the Toms River Regional School District.

Congrats to Robin and Colleen on this outstanding honor!

Learn more about the 2023–24 County Teachers of the Year and the Governor’s Educator of the Year Program.

— Emily W. Dodd